Lemon laws protect Virginia car buyers from purchasing a vehicle that is faulty or otherwise unsafe. Lemon laws generally apply to new cars or trucks. However, the regulations may also pertain to used vehicles in certain circumstances.
According to Chapter 17.3 of the Code of Virginia, a vehicle must comply with all warranties provided at the time of purchase. If you notice something isn’t right, report it to the authorized dealer where you bought the car or to the manufacturer directly. The dealer or the manufacturer must make all necessary repairs to bring the car within the scope of any warranties.
Virginia lemon laws, known as the Virginia Motor Vehicle Warranty Enforcement Act, come into effect as soon as you get the vehicle. You then have 18 months to report the problem to the dealer or manufacturer. This time limit helps prevent false claims. If the manufacturer does not resolve the problem within this period and you made a good faith effort to report it, you may have an additional 12 months to continue your claim.
It is critical to file a claim as soon as you start to notice issues. The sooner you file a complaint, the sooner you can get a working vehicle that does not pose a safety hazard. Waiting to file can also indicate the issues with your car are not as serious as you say. Some people find it helpful to work with a lemon lawyer as soon as they decide to file. While this information is provided to help you with lemon laws, it is not intended as legal advice.